OpenAI

GPT-Image 2

OpenAI’s second-generation image model — instruction-precise synthesis, editing and in-image text.

#8released Oct 16, 2026·Proprietary·Not disclosed
textimage128K ctx
Intelligence
93.1 #8
AAQI 93.0
Output Speed
25 t/s
ITL 40.0 ms/tok
Blended price (3:1)
$0.09 /1M
In $0.09/M · Out $0.09/M
Context
128K
≈ 320 A4 pages · max out 4,096

Quality Domain Radar

6-Axis Frontier Evaluation vs Category Average & Flagship

GPT-Image 2
Claude Mythos Preview (#1)
Average (68)
Coding (15)Mathematics (15)Hard Science (GPQA) (55)Agentic & Tool Use (30)Knowledge (MMLU) (70)Vision / Multimodal (99.2)

Radar axes are approximated from category scores where direct benchmark measurements are missing — see Methodology.

Strengths & Trade-offs

Where it wins

  • Best instruction-following in the image class
  • Clean typography and UI-style text rendering
  • First-class edit/inpaint endpoints
  • Deep integration with OpenAI agents

Trade-offs to watch

  • Most expensive per-image tier
  • Slower renders on complex scenes
  • Closed weights

Killer Use Cases

Design-to-asset pipelines
Prompt-precise banners, mockups and brand assets.
Agentic creative tools
Image calls orchestrated by GPT-6 agents.
Text-heavy graphics
Posters and slides needing real, legible copy.

Developer Quickstart & API

Set OPENAI_API_KEY first — get an API key
curl https://api.openai.com/v1/responses \
  -H "Authorization: Bearer $OPENAI_API_KEY" \
  -H "content-type: application/json" \
  -d '{
    "model": "gpt-image-2",
    "input": "Refactor this function for O(n) time and explain the change."
  }'

Official Resources & Links

API deployment

Compare hosts & latency

Throughput, TTFT and cache pricing across Groq, Cerebras, Together, DeepInfra, Fireworks, Bedrock and Azure.

GroqCerebrasTogether AIDeepInfraFireworks AIAWS BedrockAzure AI
View providers matrix →

Scores by Source

Head-to-head Live Matchups

Live Specs & Architecture

Under the hood
GPT-Image 2 — OpenAI image generation
  • Second-gen image stack trained with GPT-side prompt understanding
  • Legible in-image text and dense layout control
  • Transparent-background and masked-edit modes
  • Tight GPT-6/Responses API integration
Release date
Oct 16, 2026
Architecture
GPT-Image 2 — OpenAI image generation
Parameters
Not disclosed
License
Proprietary
Context Window
128,000 tokens
Max Output
4,096 tokens
Modalities
text + image
Cache Pricing
read $0.02 · write $0.11 /1M
Reasoning
—
Input Price
$0.09/M
Output Price
$0.09/M
Output Speed
25 t/s
Time to First Token
—
Data Updated
Oct 22, 2026

Estimated monthly bill

Estimated monthly spend
$0.00
Calculating savings vs GPT-4o...

Cite & embed

GitHub Markdown badge
Loading badge markdown...
BibTeX
@misc{llmpodium2026gptimage2,
  title = {Benchmark Analysis and Intelligence Evaluation of GPT-Image 2},
  author = {LLMPodium Research},
  year = {2026},
  url = {https://llmpodium.com/models/gpt-image-2}
}

Embed Score Badge

Add a live Podium Score badge to your GitHub or Hugging Face README — it links back to the live ranking.

Preview
GPT-Image 2 LLMPodium Score
Markdown
Loading badge snippet...
HTML
Loading badge snippet...

More from OpenAI

Alternative Models

Closest alternatives to GPT-Image 2 based on capabilities, pricing, and benchmark scores.

0 / 4